Skip to content ↓

The House System


Head: Mr Simpson
Captain: Thomas McManamon Cookson

Named after Richard Bentley, Headteacher 1681, and a notable academic of English Englightenment.


Head: Mrs Durno
Captain: Maddie Arnold

Named after John Gamlyn, a benefactor of Spalding Grammar School, who procured “letters patent” from Queen Elizabeth I to found the school in 1588.


Head: Mr Wyvill
Captain: Jack Moore

Named after John Hobson, who built the first Town Hall in Spalding and was a benefactor of the school.


Head: Mrs Johnson
Captain: Harry Parnell

Named after Maurice Johnson, founder of Spalding Gentleman’s Society and benefactor of Spalding Grammar School.


Head: Mr Crane
Captain: Ethan White

Named after Moulton Grammar School, founded in 1562 and amalgamated with Spalding Grammar in 1939.  


Head: Mrs Donnelly
Captain: Julia Bunko

Named after Wykeham Abbey, the country residence of the Prior of Spalding.